Four Members of Parliament affirm Indigenous Peoples in historic oath of office


Last updated 1/16/2016 at 11:36am

OTTAWA, ON—Four members elected in Canada’s recent election, recognized the treaties signed between Indigenous Peoples and the Crown since 1701. MPs Pierre Nantel, Romeo Saganash, Georgina Jolibois and Niki Ashton chose to recognize in their Oath of Allegiance in Parliament the treaties signed with Indigenous nations.

After giving the oath outlined in the Constitution, MP Georgina Jolibois (Desnethé—Missinippi—Churchill River, and Niki Ashton (Churchill) pledged the following oath: “And, I solemnly affirm that, in the carrying out of my duties, I shall honor and respect the...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2024

Rendered 02/14/2024 22:55