Navajo Nation President Begaye denied opportunity for second term


Last updated 9/10/2018 at 4:11pm

Navajo Nation

Navajo Nation Vice President Jonathan Nez

WINDOW ROCK, Ariz.-President Russell Begaye, current Navajo Nation president will not be on the November 6 ballot for the next Navajo Nation presidential election.

According to Navajo tribal election officials, more than 93,000 citizens registered to vote in the August 28 primary election. Of the 18 candidates vying for the presidential position, current Navajo Nation Vice President Jonathan Nez secured the most votes at 14,105, with former Navajo Nation president Joe Shirley, Jr. Shirley served the nation for two terms, from 2005 to 2011. Nez has served as vice president since 2015.


For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2024