Six U.S. tribes get federal recognition


Last updated 3/16/2018 at 11am

Senator Mark Warner

Senators Tim Kaine (third from right) and Mark Warner (fourth from right) stand with tribal leaders who attended the vote to federally recognize six Virginia tribes.

WASHINGTON-After a nearly two-decade long fight for federal recognition through legislation, six Virginia Indian tribes received federal recognition Jan. 29 as United Stated President Donald Trump signed legislation known as the Thomasina Jordan Act. The tribes receiving recognition are the Chickahominy, Eastern Chickahominy, Upper Mattaponi, Rappahannock, Nansemond and Monacan.

With the passing of this final legislation, the number of federally recognized tribes in the Commonwealth of Virginia now stands at seven. The amount of federally recognized tribes now stands at 573.

In February of...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2024

Rendered 03/31/2024 10:58