Intertribal Life Newspaper -

Indigenous writers and books win big at Manitoba Book Awards


Last updated 5/12/2017 at 4:54pm

Katherena Vermette, winner of McNally Robinson Book of the Year

WINNIPEG, MB-The writing community gathered at the historic Fort Garry Hotel in downtown Winnipeg on April 22, to celebrate writing and honor excellence among its writers and artists.

This year Indigenous authors and illustrators won many of the awards. Among them was Katerena Vermette who was the big winner of the night. She won the Carol Shields Winnipeg Book Award and the Margaret Laurence Award for Fiction and the McNally Robinson Book of the Year Award for her novel The Break.

David Alexander Robertson won the top prize for his graphic novel Will I See, illustrated by GMB...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2023

Rendered 06/05/2023 17:25