Young Native Writers Contest Winners Announced for 2013


Last updated 9/28/2013 at 12:35pm

NMAI/Holland & Knight Charitable Foundation

The 2013 contest winners are (left to right): Kaitlyn Boy (Blackfeet Nation), Taylor Archuleta (Choctaw Nation), Morgan Gray (Chickasaw Nation) and Constance Owl (Eastern Band Cherokee Nation). Not pictured is winner Shanice Britton (Round Valley Indian Tribe).

WASHINGTON, DC—The winners of the Holland & Knight Charitable Foundation’s 2013 Young Native Writers Essay contest have been announced. They include five Native Americans from Montana, Texas, California and North Carolina. Their tribal affiliations are Blackfeet Nation, Choctaw Nation, the Round Valley Indian Tribe, Chickasaw Nation and the Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians. The contest is open to high school students from all tribal communities throughout the U.S.

This contest was created in 2006 in response to a tragedy on the reservation for the Red Lake Band of Chippewa Indians. It...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2023

Rendered 09/11/2023 07:36